A: Grange, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath, Ireland | E: info@mullingarharriers.com

Dunboyne 10k – incorp. National 10k 2024 (24th Mar)


Dunboyne AC hosted the National 10k Championship in association with its annual Dunboyne 10k for the first time on Sunday 24th March and it proved a great success. A very well organised and competitive road race took place in splendid weather conditions. The race started on a very narrow section of road, which made for some jostling on the line and for the first kilometre, but it soon settled down and athletes enjoyed a mixed route through the village and rolling country roads before finishing on the club’s track.

Mullingar Harriers was represented by 16 athletes among the nearly 1,300 finishers, some of whom achieved age group results. Vinny Connolly led the Mullingar athletes home in an excellent 21st place in a time of 31 minutes 35 seconds, followed by James Keegan (32:53), Kedagh Geoghegan (34:33) and Alan Crowley (35:40). Eddie Newman was delighted to finish first in his master category in 36:27. Sinead Whitelaw was first of the Mullingar women home, in 37 minutes 19 seconds, an excellent 25th woman overall but second place in her master category to win National silver, just one second off first place. Joan Flynn and Ann Hall finished in 39:15 and 40:14 respectively, to complete the Mullingar master women team that claimed National silver team medals. Mary Stuart ran a strong race to win her master category in 41:35. Other Mullingar finishers included Pauric Brady (38:40), Liam McGlynn (41:42), Padraig Beglin (42:03), Paul Ginnell (44:21), Gemma Kelly (45:44), Anna Broderick (46:02) and Linda Cunningham (46:21) [SW].